Deadline for ILA award nominations approaching

Just a reminder that now is the time to submit nominations for the ILA Awards.  The deadline is May 15th.  I'm appealing to you as lHLS members and also as people who know many other folks in libraryland. Many Illinois librarians have done great things.  Please nominate them for awards.  While we are in need of nominations in all categories, these may be of particular interest to you:
The Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award for sustained activity and contributions having a lasting impact on librarianship relating to multitype library cooperation and/or resource sharing.
The Library Innovative Award that recognizes a library's achievement in planning and implementing an innovative or creative program or service, which has had a measurable impact on its users.
The Intellectual Freedom Award which recognizes outstanding contributions in defending intellectual freedom.
The Librarian of the Year Award which recognizes a librarian's distinguished service and leadership in Illinois libraries.
The Deborah Dowley Preiser Marketing Award which recognizes a library employee's excellent work in public relations and adult programming.
The Robert R. McClarren Legislative Development Award which recognizes a significant contribution to legislative development in Illinois.
The Trustee of the Year Award which recognizes a public library trustee for achievement, leadership, and service to libraries.

You will find complete information on these and all awards on the ILA web page:
You may also freely copy and distribute this poster:

Please contact me or Larry D'Urso, ILA Awards Committee Chairman (

Mary Wilkes Towner
ILA Awards Committee