

Attachment 4.1

NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Date: April 19, 2021 Time: 11:00 a.m.

Call to Order

Sarah Isaacs called the meeting to order at 11:03 a.m.

Roll Call

Members present: Esther Curry, Christi Gerrish, Louise Greene, Sarah Isaacs (entered at 11:28 a.m.), Jennifer Lara

Others present: Stacie Bushong

Public Comment

None

Approval of Minutes

Christi Gerrish motioned to approve the March 5, 2021 minutes. Louise Greene seconded. Motion carried.

Unfinished Business

<u>Finalize Election Results</u> Public Library Trustee – Ryan Johnson, O'Fallon Public Library School Library Representatives – Jenna Griffith, Marion CUSD #2 and Tammy Krouse, Edwards County CUSD #1 Public Library Trustees – Ann Chandler, Taylorville Public Library and Kevin Latoz, Elwood Library District

Esther Curry motioned to finalize the election results. Louise Greene seconded. Motion carried.

New Business

<u>Discuss Candidate Notification</u> Stacie Bushong will reach out to Stacey Carter for guidance on notification and inform the Nominating committee.

Discuss Committee Recommendations to Improve the Election Process

IMAGINING TOMORROW ~ DELIVERING POSSIBILITIES TODAY!

The committee offers the following recommendations for future elections:

- The committee would like more details for the notification process.
- The group feels the board should notify candidates since they are the governing body.
- Information should be added to the geographic map to specify which board members are retiring.
- After the nomination form closes, add nominees to map, with the seat they are running, to fill in a different color pin.
- Inform membership that since only one vote per library agency is allowed, the first vote cast from each library is the one that counts on the website election page.
- Add to nomination form an option to check which seat or seats the nominee will qualify for and let potential nominees know the seat appointed for does not restrict contributions to board activities.
- The committee wants nominee bios to remain on the ballot.

Public Comment

None

Announcements

This is the final meeting.

Adjournment

Sarah Isaacs motioned to adjourn. Esther Curry seconded. Motion carried. Adjourned at 11:39 p.m.