Board candidate write-in seats

Attention IHLS members:

Voters will be given the opportunity to write in candidates for 2 open seats in this year’s election for the Illinois Heartland Library System Board of Directors

The nomination process for candidates closed on February 15. At that time, there were no candidates for one of the open public library trustee seats and no candidates for the open seat for special libraries.

When you receive your ballots on March 15, you will be given a space where you can write in the name of a person who is eligible and willing to serve in the special seat and in the public library trustee seat. The person with the most write-in votes will be the winner.

The IHLS Nominating Committee reserves the right to make sure that all write-in candidates are eligible and willing to serve.

If no eligible winner steps forward or is found through the write-in process, any empty seat will be filled with an appointee by the IHLS Board president, as approved by the full IHLS Board.

The Nominating Committee is hoping that, by this advanced notice, you will be better prepared when you receive your ballot and begin voting.


If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact one of the Nominating Committee members:

Kim Keller, Chair, Bryan-Bennett Library in Salem, Contact Number (618)548-3006

Julia Welzen , Argenta-Oreana Public Library District, Contact Number (217)468-2340

Elaine Steingrubey, Morrison-Talbott Library in Waterloo, Contact Number (618)939-6232

Debra Sherrick, Casey-Westfield CUSD, Contact Number (217)932-2175

Mary Ann Pohl, Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library, Contact Number (217)785-7944